Ondo Election: 75% Of Results In, Says INEC


Hours after voting was concluded in the Ondo State Governorship election, and collation commenced, 75% of the results have been uploaded to the INEC portal.

National Commissioner, Independent National Electoral Commission, Professor Anthonia Simbine, disclosed this in an interview on Channels Television’s Politics Today on Saturday.

“Right now, Polling Unit results have been uploaded and we have about 75% of those unit results uploaded on the INEC results viewing portal,” Simbine said.

She, however, said she can’t predict when the final results would come out as the state is very large.

“I don’t think we can say for definite now. You know that Ondo State is quite large with varying types of terrain, including going over the seas and all the results have to come in before we can really say”.

Read Also: We’ll Continue Using Smartcard Readers Until We Have An Alternative – INEC

The results that have come in so far, according to the INEC official, are from 2,200 Polling Units.

Speaking further, Simbine clarified the process of uploading the results, saying the ‘Z Pad’ was not fully utilised but it was only used to upload the results.

“The Z Pad was to be used for two functions,” the Resident Electoral Commissioner in Edo State, Johnson Alalibo, had explained during the Edo governorship election last month, “one of which was to do double authentication of the accreditation process.”

“It was test run in the state constituency election in Nasarawa State but there were some hitches and we have been advised to test run those hitches before we run it again for this major state governorship election”.

If implemented, the Z Pad, according to Alalibo would have allowed Nigerians view the results “on time, and real-time”.

Simbine, however, noted that the process was neither used for the Ondo nor the Edo election until the challenges from the test run have been rectified.

Key candidates in the race which involved 17 political parties, are the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Eyitayo Jegede who is hoping to secure a victory after losing out in 2016; the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and deputy governor of the state, Ajayi Agboola, who is running against his principal, Rotimi Akeredolu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who is also seeking to secure a second term.

Akeredolu Wins Local Government Area

RESULT OF POLL: Final Result For Owo LGA

APC: 35957

PDP: 5311

ZLP: 408

an hour ago

RESULT OF POLL: Final Result For Akoko South East LGA 

APC – 9,419

PDP – 4,003

ZLP – 2,004

RESULT OF POLL: Ifedore LGA Final result

APC – 9350

PDP – 11852

ZLP – 1863

RESULT OF POLL:  Ward 12, Okitipupa I, Okitipupa LGA 

APC – 1634

PDP – 739

ZLP – 1866

RESULT OF POLL:  Ward 13, Okitipupa II

APC – 2128

PDP – 888

ZLP – 1910


Final Result for Akoko South West LGA

APC – 21232

PDP – 15055

ZLP – 2775

Local Government collation Officer:

Prof Isiaka O. Aransi of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.Share

RESULT OF POLL: Ile Oluji/ Oke Igbo LGA Final Result 

APC – 13287

PDP – 9231

ZLP – 1971

RESULT OF POLL: Okitipupa LGA, Illutitun Ward 3

APC – 1408

PDP – 1222

ZLP – 410

Akoko North East Final Result 

Akoko North East Final Result As Announced By Professor A.O Adesoji, LGA Collation Officer

APC – 16,572

PDP – 8,380

ZLP – 3,532

RESULT OF POLL: Ese-Odo LGA, Ward 01

APC – 904

PDP – 263

ZLP – 721

Valid votes: 1986

Rejected votes: 104

Total votes cast: 2090

RESULT OF POLL: Ese-Odo Local Government Area, Ward 03

APC: 1503

PDP: 381

ZLP:  1031

RESULT OF POLL: Ese-Odo Ward Collation Results


APC: 765

PDP: 329

ZLP: 143

RESULT OF POLL: Ese-Odo Ward Collation Results


APC: 986

PDP: 300

ZLP: 229

Collation about to commence at Okitipupa LGA

Ondo elections result: Gov Akeredolu in early lead

As results from the Ondo elections tickle in, it is evident that the current Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, who is on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is in line to win a re-election.

Incoming results from polling units across Ondo state show that Governor Aberdour is in early lead beating Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

So far, results of 606 out of 3,000 Polling Units have been collated. Akeredolu currently has 65,590 votes, while his nearest contender Jegede has 40,027.  Ajayi has polled 11,603 votes so far.