New Trump rule may require some African tourists to pay up to $15,000 in bonds

Historically, U.S. consular officers have been discouraged from requiring travelers to the United States to post a bond, with State Department guidance saying processing of the bonds would be “cumbersome,” the temporary rule said.

Countries whose tourist and business travelers could be subject to the bond requirement include those from Democratic Republic of Congo, Liberia, Sudan, Chad, Angola, Burundi, Djibouti and Eritrea. Other countries include Afghanistan, Bhutan, Iran, Syria, Laos and Yemen

According to a new travel rule set up by the Trump administration, Visitors from some African countries will have to post bonds of up to15,000 dollars to visit the United States of America.

This new rule is meant to act as a hindrance to those people who overstay their visas. It is a six-month pilot program that targets people on both visitor and business visas, the US state department stated.

The new travel rule which comes into play on December 24 is said to be temporary.

The visa bond targets countries whose nationals have an ‘overstay rate’ of 10% or higher in 2019. They will be required to now pay a refundable bond of 5,000, 10,000, or 15,000 dollars.

Although the Outgoing president made restricting immigration a major part of his term, the new president elects Joe Biden has promised to reverse many of the immigration laws made by Donald Trump’s administration.

Twenty-four countries meet that criteria, including 15 African countries. While those nations had higher rates of overstays, they sent relatively few travelers to the United States.

The African countries affected are:


Burkina Faso


Democratic Republic of Congo



The Gambia

Guinea- Bissau





Sao Tome


Cape Verde